As used in this article, the following terms shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates that a different meaning is intended:
(a) “Delinquent Acts” means those acts which violate the laws of the United States, or the statutes of the State of Kansas, or the ordinances of the city, which would tend to cause the minor to come under the jurisdiction of the Kansas Juvenile Code, specifically Article 16, the Kansas Juvenile Offenders Code of Chapter 38. This definition does not include minor traffic violations.
(b) “Minor” means any person under the age of 18 years and as defined by state law.
(c) “Parent” means mother, father, legal guardian, and any other person having the care or custody of a minor, or any person acting in the parents stead who has custody of the minor.
(d) “Illegal Drugs” means controlled substances obtained without a prescription.
(Ord. 435, Sec. 1)
(a) It is the continuous duty of the parent of any minor to exercise reasonable parental control to prevent the minor from committing any delinquent act. This parental duty includes, but is not limited to the following:
(1) Keeping illegal drugs, illegal firearms, or illegal weapons out of the home and legal firearms locked places that are inaccessible to the minor;
(2) Arranging proper supervision for the minor when the parent must be absent;
(3) Forbidding the minor from keeping stolen property, illegally possessing firearms, illegal weapons, or illegal drugs;
(4) Requiring the minor to honor any curfew set by city or state laws;
(5) Provide adequate supervision over any child the parents, by reason of the child’s previous juvenile court contacts or police department contacts, the parents knew or should have known the child’s propensity to commit delinquent acts;
(6) Giving full cooperation to any juvenile court authority’s supervising a minor probation;
(7) Take appropriate action upon learning of a delinquent act by a minor child, the appropriate action being some effort to make restitution to any victim and appropriate punishment of the minor; however, this phrase “appropriate action” shall not be construed to require the parent to report the violation to law enforcement authorities, unless specifically questioned by such authorities.
(b) A person may be found guilty of failing to exercise reasonable parental control, even though no prosecution of the child whose misconduct was the subject matter of the adult’s prosecution has been commenced pursuant to the Kansas Juvenile Offender’s Code or Kansas Criminal Code.
(Ord. 435, Sec. 2)
(a) Whenever a minor is arrested or detained for the commission of any delinquent act within the city, the parent of the minor shall be immediately notified by the City of Goddard Police Department, advising the parent of such arrest or detention, the reason for the arrest or detention, and the parent’s responsibility under this article.
(b) A record of such notification shall be kept by the city police department.
(Ord. 435, Sec. 3)
Any person violating any section of this article shall be subject to a fine of not less than $250.00 nor more than $1,000.00, or confinement for not more than 180 days, or both such fine and confinement, for each offense, and a separate offense shall be deemed committed on each day during or on which a violation occurs or continues. In addition, any firearm seized in connection herewith shall be destroyed upon order of the court or, upon order of the court may be preserved as city property.
(Ord. 489, Sec. 1, Code 2001)
It shall be unlawful for any minor under the age of 16 years to loiter, idle, wander, stroll, or play in or upon the public streets, highways, roads, alleys, parks, playgrounds, public places and public buildings, places of amusement and entertainment, vacant lots or other unsupervised places between the hours of 11 :00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. of the following day; provided, however, that the provisions of this section shall not apply to a minor accompanied by his or her parent, guardian, or other adult person having the care and custody of the minor, or where the minor is upon an emergency errand or legitimate business directed by his or her parent, guardian, or other adult person having the care and custody of the minor.
(Ord. 489, Sec. 1)
It shall be unlawful for the parent, guardian, or other adult person having the care and custody of a minor under the age of 16 years to permit such minor to violate Section 405 of this article except as so stated in section 405 above.
(Ord. 489, Sec. 2)
Upon first violation of Section 405 of this article the minor will be taken to place of residence by police officer and parents given written notice as to the manner in which the violation occurred. Upon a second or subsequent violation of Section 405 of this article, the minor will be dealt with in accordance with juvenile court law and procedure. Upon a minor’s second or subsequent violation of Section 405 of this article the parent or guardian or adult shall be punished by a fine of not less than $250.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or by imprisonment for not more than 180 days, or by both such fine and confinements.
(Ord. 489, Sec. 3; Code 2001)